Return to accessibility navigation at the top of the page.

Board Members

Contact all Board of Governors members by sending email to: Additional ways to contact the board are provided on the Contact webpage.

Mark Hanna


District 1:  Mark Hanna

Mark Hanna is the District 1 representative. Mark had a retail management career for over 30 years before retiring in 1999 to Tucson with his wife, Lynda. He earned his associate degree in Education from Pima and bachelor’s and master’s degrees in Higher Education from The University of Arizona.

Mark worked as a teacher’s aide and the College and Career Readiness Coordinator at Catalina High School, retiring in 2014. He has served as chair of the Pima Community College Alumni Association, was a member of the PCC Foundation Board and was Pima East Campus Student Government treasurer. Mark also is an officer of The University of Arizona Hillel Board Of Directors. Mark was awarded the Metropolitan Education Commission’s “Crystal Apple Award” in 2011 and the Century Link/Arizona Diamondbacks “All Star Teacher Award” in 2013.

Elected in Nov. 2014 for the term 2015-2020


District 2: 

[Currently vacant]

Sylvia Lee


District 3:  Sylvia M. Lee, Ph.D.

Dr. Lee retired in 2011 after serving 30 years in leadership positions in community colleges and universities in Arizona and Minnesota.  Most recently she served as President of PCC's Community and Northwest Campuses.

Dr. Lee is proud that she graduated with an Associate's Degree, served as campus president and now is a governing board member at Pima Community College. She received her Baccalaureate and Masters Degrees from the University of Arizona and a Ph.D. in Higher Education from Arizona State University.  She serves on numerous non-profit boards, including Goodwill Industries of Southern Arizona, Literacy Connects, DM-50 (Friends of Davis Monthan Air Force Base) and the University of Arizona President's Asian Pacific American Community Advisory Council.

Elected in Nov. 2012 for the term 2013 - 2018

Scott Stewart


District 4:  Scott A. Stewart

Mr. Stewart is a recently retired engineer with over 35 years of experience in diverse areas of electro-optical testing, data analysis, and front line management. Mr. Stewart holds a Bachelor of Science in Astronomy, a Bachelor of Science in Physics, a Bachelor of Arts in Russian, and a Master of Science in Optical Sciences, all from the University of Arizona.

Mr. Stewart continues in leadership roles in civic activities and maintains proficiency in technical Russian.

Elected in Nov. 1998 for the term 1999- 2004
Elected in Nov. 2004 for the term 2005 - 2010
Elected in Nov. 2010 for the term 2011 – 2016

Martha Durkin


District 5:  Martha Durkin

Martha Durkin is an attorney with extensive experience representing and advising local governmental entities including Pima County, City of Tucson and Tucson Unified School District.  She received her undergraduate and law degrees from the University of Arizona. 

Since 1984, she has worked as an attorney practicing in the areas of employment law and contracts, and she has held a number of high level administrative positions.  Ms. Durkin is currently Deputy City Manager for the City of Tucson. 

Appointed August. 2015 for the term 2015-2016